Month: June 2012

All School Board Positions Open in Upcoming Election

Are you interesting in serving your community and supporting the Smackover School District?  One way to do this is by becoming a school board member.

Following the census, the District was required to redraw the boundary lines for school board positions.  Because of this, all of the school board positions are considered open in the upcoming election.

If you would like to become a school board member, submit the following three items on or before noon on Tuesday, July 10, 2012:

  1. Petition with 20 signatures from the zone in which you live
  2. Affidavit of Eligibility
  3. Political Practices Pledge

Forms may be obtained from the Union County Courthouse.

The Smackover School Board meets in regular session on the second Monday of each month.

If you would like more information about becoming a school board member, please contact Superintendent Don Smeltzer at 725-3132 for further information

SHS Class of ’72 Reunion

The Smackover High School Class of 1972 celebrated their 40th class reunion during the Oil Town Festival weekend. Seated left to right: Gloria Jones Boone, Cheryl Gandy Corley, Sherry Jameson Darden, Joleen Parks Braswell, Eileen Harmon Fletcher, Louise Barnes Nelson. Back row left to right: Mike Jones, Dennis Ray, Robert Sutherland, Bob Garner, Eddie Humphreys, Johnny Williams, Rick Hill, Jimmy Morris, Charles Sellers, Chuck Moore, Clark Langley, Rusty Scott, Billy Burchfield.


SHS Students Honored for Mathematics Achievement

The following Smackover High School students were presented awards related to mathematics at the end of the 2011-2012 school year.

Congratulations to these students!

  • Trigonometry – Ariel Dunn
  • Pre-Calculus – Brooklynn Taylor
  • Geometry – Tyler Stevens
  • PreAP Geometry – Dalton Owens, Troy Dino
  • Algebra I – Gage Garner, Tiffani Anders, Sam Zargari, Disheanna Brown, Brittney Barnhardt
  • Algebra II – Ty Mullens
  • AP Statistics – Ariel Dunn
  • 7th Grade Math – Hunter Lee, Holly Donahoe
  • 7th grade Pre-AP Math – Brycelnn Bailey, Drew Crutchfield
  • 8th grade Math – Landon Darden, Denver Darden

Smackover School District Still Accepting School Choice Applications

The Smackover School District will accept applications for transfer students by “Arkansas Public School Choice Act of 1989″ until July 1, 2012, for the 2012-2013 school year.  Applications may be picked up at the Smackover School District Central Office or by clicking on the link below.

School Choice Application

For more information about School Choice, please contact Superintendent Don Smeltzer at 725-3132.

Why are the Common Core State Standards good for students?

Common standards are good for students because:

  • They help prepare students with the knowledge and skills they need to succeed in college and careers.
  • They give students more time to focus on depth of understanding topics being covered.
  • Clear standards help students realize what is expected of them and allow them to engage in self-directed learning.


SHS Students Recognized for Foreign Language Achievement and Participation

The following Smackover High School students were presented awards related to foreign language achievement and participation at the end of the 2011-2012 school year.

Congratulations to these students!

  • Foreign Language Exchange – Krisanna Reynolds
  • Hardest Working Foreign Language Exchange Student – Reagan Pyron
  • Spanish I – Logan Clark
  • Hardest Working Spanish I Student – Cody Johnson
  • Spanish II – Troy Dino
  • Hardest Working Spanish II Student – Alexis Evans
  • Best Attitude – Demetris McAdoo
  • French I Award – Dalton Owens, Sequin Cook

The following students were inducted into the Spanish National Honor Society:

Alesha Billings, Dakota Blakney, Aaron Brock, Lindsay Burson, Emily Church, Haley Clayton, Troy Dino, Alexis Evans, Charmaine Givens, Mariah Gough, Kaylee Graham, Oleshia Grant, Sierra Harper, Tucker Henderson, Linda Hernandez, Sivana Lofton, Nicole Martin, Cordell McDonald, Mallory Pyron, Shaq Richardson, Brooke Roden, Jasmine Lee, and Sharda Sims

What are the Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards initiative is a state-led effort coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). The standards were developed in collaboration with teachers, school administrators and other experts to provide a clear and consistent framework to prepare our students for college and the workforce.

These standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education so they will graduate high school able to succeed in entry-level, credit- bearing academic college courses and in the workforce. They are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world. The new learning standards stress conceptual understanding and application. They are internationally benchmarked to guarantee our students are competitive in the emerging global marketplace.

The Arkansas State Board of Education adopted the Common Core State Standards in July 2010. With our students fully prepared for the future, our state will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy.


SHS Students Receive Career and Technical Education Awards

The following Smackover High School students were presented awards related to career and technical education at the end of the 2011-2012 school year.

Congratulations to these students!

  • Digital Communications – Aaron Brock, Ashley Drummond
  • Computer Business Applications – Jacob Wood
  • January Mid-Level Business Student – Clay Stringer
  • February Mid-Level Business Student – Adrianna Williams
  • March Mid-Level Business Student – Toby Hudson
  • September Mid-Level Business Student – Drew Crutchfield
  • October Mid-Level Business Student – Cody Ramsey
  • November Mid-Level Business Student – Brycelynn Bailey
  • December Mid-Level Business Student – Tessa Watson
  • Mid-Level Business Student of the Year – Clay Stringer
  • Family and Consumer Science – Logan Clark
  • Child Development – Brooklyn Taylor, Haley Bird
  • Family and Consumer Science Investigations – Krisanna Reynolds, Landon Darden
  • Parenting – Ariel Dunn, Jessica Watson

SHS Fine Arts Awards

The following Smackover High School students were presented awards related to the fine arts at the end of the 2011-2012 school year.

Congratulations to these students!

  • Drama – Brianna Barnhardt
  • Art III – Abbigail Bradshaw
  • Art II – Morgan Anders, Sequin Cook, Michael Taylor
  • Art I – Troy Dino, Brooke Roden, Haley Clayton, Tristan Fuller, Devonte Thrower
  • Most Improved Jr. High Band Student – Hiland Alexander
  • Most Outstanding Jr. High Female Band Student – Kashauna Williams
  • Most Outstanding Jr. High Male Band Student – Doyne Alphin
  • Most Improved Sr. High Band Student – Alex Golden
  • Director’s Award – Audrey Kemp
  • Most Improve Choir Student – Destinee Flanagan
  • Most Outstanding Choir Student – Sarah Wood