SHS Receives Math Award

Smackover High School has been recognized by the Office for Education Policy (OEP) at the University of Arkansas as a school where students demonstrated high growth on the ACT Aspire!  The OEP creates an annual report entitle the Outstanding Educational Performance Awards where they recognize schools with high student academic growth.  According to the OEP, growth is the best indicator of the positive impact that your school is having on students.

Smackover High School received an award for High Math Growth:  High School Level (Southwest Region).

Awards are based on the 2019 content growth score calculated by the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education.  These growth scores reflect how much students at the school improved from 2018 compared to how much they were expected to grow considering prior achievement.

Congratulations to the mathematics faculty (Crystal Yeager, Shelly Childers, Debra Spooner, and Charli Blair) and to the mathematics students for this recognition.