SHS Students Selected to Attend Governor’s School

This year, three students from the Smackover-Norphlet School District have been selected to attend the 2018 Arkansas Governor’s School (AGS) hosted at Hendrix College.  Those selected to attend are Katelynn Gifford (Choral Music), Lillian Reyes (Visual Arts), and Kayleigh Yeager (Natural Science).

Selection for Governor’s School is based on a combination of ability and interest and is highly competitive.  The six-week intensive program is in its thirty-ninth year.

AGS is a six-week summer residential program for gifted and talented students who are upcoming high school seniors and residents of the state of Arkansas.  The program is funded by the Arkansas State Legislature as a portion of the biennial appropriation for Gifted and Talented Programs through the State Department of Education.  State funds provide tuition, room, board, and instructional materials for each student who attends the program.  AGS is a non-credit program that seeks to create a unique experience for a select group of Arkansas’ best students in which the students are exposed to an intellectual atmosphere both inside and outside the classrooms.  AGS was founded in 1980 and has been held on the campus of Hendrix College since its creation.  For additional information about the program–including past curriculum, speakers, and activities– please visit our website at

For additional information about AGS please contact the AGS Office via email at or via telephone at 501-450-1279.