Month: June 2014

SHS Math Awards

Congratulations to the following Smackover High School students for their excellence in math:

  • Algebra A – Laura Deal
  • Algebra I – Elizabeth Golden
  • Algebra I – Precious Dorman
  • Algebra I – Holly Donahoe
  • Algebra II – Sadie Bullard
  • Algebra II – Disheanna Brown
  • Algebra II – Brycelynn Bailey
  • Algebra II – Mikie Howell
  • Algebra II – Holly West
  • Linear Systems and Statistics – Hannah Johnson
  • AP Statistics – Troy Dino
  • Precalculus – Tyler Stevens
  • Bridge to Algebra II – Linda Hernandez
  • Algebra III – Charmaine Givens
  • AP Calculus – Troy Dino
  • Eighth Grade Math Award – Lexie Gilbert
  • Eighth Grade PreAP Math Award – Precious Dorman
  • Seventh Grade Math Award – Hannah Squyres
  • Seventh Grade Math Award – Hannah Freeman
  • Seventh Grade PreAP Math Award – Taylor Harris
  • Seventh Grade PreAP Math Award – Mary-Claire Wilcox
  • Seventh Grade PreAP Math Award – Robert Dixon
  • Precalculus – Logan Clark
  • Precalculus – Joseph Clark
  • PreAP Geometry – Brycelynn Bailey

ACT Prep

Ms. Kate Penziner who used to teach science at Smackover High School has started a new blog to support students who are preparing for the ACT test.  Ms. Penziner sent this note about her blog (ACT-A-Day):


Happy summer! You’re here because you are probably thinking about taking the ACT sometime soon. Maybe you already took it, maybe you have no idea what it’s like — either way, doing a little bit each day this summer will go a long way to helping you prepare!

– Ms. Penziner


You can find Ms. Penziner’s blog here.

Smackover Football Schedule

The 2014 Smackover football schedule has been released.

Click on the link below to access the schedule.


Smackover_Football Schedule_2014_2015


Enter your email address in the section entitled Follow Blog via Email to receive notification of new posts to the blog.

We will be posting athletic schedules and other important information on the blog in an effort to keep parents and the community informed about the events occurring in the Smackover-Norphlet School District.

Job Vacancies

Smackover-Norphlet Public Schools

The Smackover-Norphlet School District is currently accepting applications for 2014-2015 for the following positions:

Elementary Special Education Teacher
(Norphlet Elementary School)

Life Science Teacher with Coaching (7-12)
(Norphlet High School)

Vocal MusicTeacher (K-12)
(Norphlet Elementary and Norphlet High School)

Must have current Arkansas teaching license in the appropriate subject and grade level.

Please submit application, resume’, transcript, and current copy of teaching license to Superintendent Dave Wilcox, 112 East 8th Street, Smackover, AR  71762.

Paraprofessional (2)
(Smackover Preschool)

Must have a CDA or AA Degree in Early Childhood Education and pass the Parapro Exam.

Please submit application, resume’, transcript, and current copy of teaching license to Teri Philyaw, 112 East 8th Street, Smackover, AR,  71762

Interim School Board Members Selected

Beginning July 1, 2014, an interim school board for the Smackover-Norphlet School District will serve until new zones can be determined and a new school board election (September, 2015).  The interim school board will consist of five school board members from the Smackover School District and two school board members from the Norphlet School District.

Selected to serve from the Smackover School District are:

  • Joe Bates
  • Lynn Birchfield
  • Jerry Hegwood
  • Chris Long
  • Don Thomas

Selected to serve from the Norphlet School District are:

  • Damon Goodwin
  • Wendy Walker


Free Athletic Physicals

Students in 7th – 12th grades who wish to participate in athletics are required to have a physical.

The Smackover Family Clinic will be offering free athletics physicals on Thursday, June 19.

  • Physicals for females will begin at 9:00 am.
  • Physicals for males will begin at 10:30 am.

For more information about athletic physicals, please contact Athletic Director Mike Poff at 725-3101.

SES Announces Top 20 AR Goal Achievers

Smackover Elementary School Library Media Specialist Charlie Weaver took the Top 20 Accelerated Reader Goal Achievers for the Year on a field trip to Excalibur Family Entertainment Center on Tuesday, May 20.

  • Kortney Akis
  • Emma Gottberg
  • Joshua Malin
  • Anna Dixon
  • Carlie Crawford
  • Sydney Preston
  • Landree Clark
  • Mathieu Malin
  • Anna Morgan
  • Rhett Richardson
  • Emily Bailey
  • Anna Grace Crutchfield
  • Gabbi Kelly
  • Caleb Watson
  • Drew Haynes
  • Elizabeth Rodriguez
  • Trenton Bailey
  • Jillian Russell
  • Lexie Lawrence
  • William Newton

This slideshow requires JavaScript.